Derek Dietrich, C.J. Riefenhauser win April Hot Rods’ awards

Minor League Baseball

During the Minor League baseball season, BluGrass Baseball named a hitter and pitcher of the month for each of the state’s three MiLB teams and the group of Kentucky alumni in the minors. Check out the first April awards post below as we look at the best performances from the Bowling Green Hot Rods:

Hitter of the month: SS Derek Dietrich

  • Stats: 18-62 (.290), 3 HR, 11 RBI, 12 R
  • Honorable Mention: Lucas Bailey, Nicholas Schwaner
Pitcher of the month: LHP C. J. Riefenhauser
  • Stats: 2-1, 4 G, 2.74 ERA, 23 SO/7 BB, 23 IP
  • Honorable Mention: Chris Rearick, Omar Bencomo, Austin Hubbard

MiLB roundup: Bats, Hot Rods, Legends win; Kuhn has four hits; Glad has three hits in support of Darnell’s stellar start

Minor League Baseball

Logan Darnell; BluGrass Baseball photo

Highlights from Thursday Kentucky MiLB action:

  • The Louisville Bats w0n their seventh consecutive game with a 5-2 victory over Indianapolis. Right-handed pitcher Chad Reineke improved to 2-0 after surrendering two runs on six hits in six and two-third innings. Left fielder Dave Sappelt, third baseman Todd Frazier and center fielder Kris Negron all homered for Louisville.
  • The Bowling Green Hot Rods used a three-run fifth inning to earn a 4-1 win over Fort Wayne. Left-handed pitcher Braulio Lara earned the win after surrendering one run on two hits in five innings, and left-handed pitcher Chris Rearick earned the save after surrendering one hit in four shutout innings.
  • The Lexington Legends held 2010 No. 1 pick Bryce Harper to just one hit in a 7-0 shutout win over Hagerstown. Right-handed pitcher Tanner Bushue improved to 2-0 after surrendering five hits in eight shutout inning while striking out four and walking two. Designated hitter Telvin Nash and center fielder Daniel Adamson each homered for Lexington.
  • Louisville native Tyler Kuhn was 4-4 with one stolen base for AA Birmingham.
  • Lexington native and former UK outfielder Collin Cowgill was 3-6 with one RBI, two runs scored and one stolen base.
  • Former UK third baseman Gunner Glad was 3-6 with one double for low A Beloit.
  • Glad’s performance backed a stellar pitching performance from former UK left-handed pitcher Logan Darnell, who took a no decision despite surrendering just two hits in eight shutout innings while striking out six batters and walking none for Beloit.
  • Former EKU left-handed pitcher Christian Friedrich took a loss after surrendering seven runs on eight hits in six innings in a start for AA Tulsa.
  • One-time UofL left-handed pitcher Zach Jackson, who transferred to Texas A&M from UofL, took a no decision after surrendering five runs on nine hits in seven innings while striking out four batters and walking none.

Phil Wunderlich headlines Hot Rods’ Opening Day roster

Minor League Baseball

The Bowling Green Hot Rods have released the team’s 2011 Opening Day roster, which is headlined by a former UofL slugger. Check out the roster below with the town where the player resides and information about how he was acquired by the Rays:


  • RHP Jairo De La Rosa — Santo Domingo, DR — FA (2002)
  • RHP Nate Garcia — San Jose, Cal. — 16th round (2010)
  • RHP Stephen Hiscock — Beacon Falls, Conn. — FA (2010)
  • RHP Austin Hubbard — Auburn, Ala. — 14th round (2010)
  • RHP George Jensen — Eagen, Minn. — 46th round (2010)
  • RHP William Kline — Belden, Miss. — 2nd round (2007)
  • LHP Braulio Lara — San Pedro de Macoris, DR — FA (2008)
  • RHP Victor Mateo — Santo Domingo, DR — FA (2006)
  • LHP Jimmy Patterson — Tempe, Ariz. — 18th round (2010)
  • LHP Chris Rearick — Pooler, Ga. — 41st round (2010)
  • LHP C. J. Riefenhauser — Mahopac, N.Y. — 20th round (2010)
  • RHP Wilking Rodriguez — Puerto Cabello, VZ — FA 2007
  • LHP Enny Romero — Santo Domingo, DR — FA 2008
  • LHP Matthew Stabelfield — Turlock, Cal. — 41st round (2009)
  • RHP Eliazer Suero — Haina, DR — FA 2007


  • Lucas Bailey — LaGrange, Ga. — 4th round (2009)
  • Kyle Holloway — Deerfield Beach, Fla. — FA (2001)
  • Alejandro Torres — Caracas, VZ — FA (2006)


  • Phil Wunderlich — Louisville, Ky. — 12th round (2010)
  • Derek Dietrich — Clermont, Fla. — 2nd round (2010)
  • Robi Estrada — El Segundo, Cal. — 19th round (2006)
  • Hector Guevara — San Felix, VZ — FA (2008)


  • Todd Glaesmann — Woodway, Tex. — 3rd round (2009)
  • Kevin Klermaier — Ft. Wayne, Ind. — 31st round (2010)
  • Cody Rogers — White Oak, Tex. — 7th round (2009)
  • Nick Schwaner — Slidell, La. — 30th round (2010)