MiLB Roundup: Bats, Legends, Hot Rods win; Griffin has big night for Bats; Dominguez, Bynum homer

Minor Leagues

Chris Dominguez; UofL Photo

Highlights to Friday Kentucky MiLB action:

  • The Louisville Bats pulled a game closer to the International League playoffs with a 16-6 win over Indianapolis. Left fielder Michael Griffin was 4-5 with two home runs, a triple, four RBI and four runs scored.
  • The Lexington Legends tallied just five hits in a 1-0 loss to Rome. Right-handed pitcher Juan Minaya fell to 4-12 on the season despite surrendering just one run on four hits in eight innings.
  • The Bowling Green Hot Rods finished a series sweep of Dayton with a 7-1 win Friday. Second baseman Kyle Spraker homered and drove in three runs.
  • Former UofL infielder Chris Dominguez was 2-4 with a triple, home run, three RBI and three runs scored for low A Augusta.
  • Frankfort native and 2010 Royals draftee Cameron Conner reached base four times, scored once and drove in one run for rookie-level Idaho Falls.
  • Louisville native Seth Bynum slugged his 14th home run of the season for AAA Syracuse.
  • Braves right-handed pitching prospect Michael Broadway, born in Paducah, earned his fifth win of the season despite surrendering four runs in two innings for AAA Gwinnett.

MiLB Roundup: Bats win 11th straight; Hot Rods, Legends lose; Rusin loses AA debut; Revere injured on HBP

Minor League Baseball
Chris Rusin; Photo by UK Athletics

Chris Rusin; Photo: UK Athletics

Highlights from Monday Kentucky MiLB action:

  • The Louisville Bats extended their season-high winning streak to 11 games with a 4-3 victory in 12 innings over Columbus. Rehabbing Cincinnati Reds outfielder Chris Dickerson was 3-5 with a home run, two RBI and two runs scored for the Bats.
  • The Bowling Green Hot Rods scored six runs in the fourth inning but still lost 9-6 to South Bend. Third baseman Julio Cedeno tallied three hits and shortstop Kyle Spraker slugged his third home run of the season.
  • The Lexington Legends outhit Hagerstown 12-7 but still suffered an 8-5 loss to the Suns. Designated hitter Kody Hinze was 3-4 with a home run, two RBI and one run scored.
  • Lexington Catholic alum Ben Revere had to leave his game for AA New Britain after being hit in the face by a pitch.
  • Former UK left-handed pitcher Chris Rusin took the loss in his debut with AA Tennessee despite surrendering just one unearned run in five innings. Rusin struck out four and walked three.
  • Danville native and 2010 Tigers draftee Patrick Cooper took a no decision for low A West Michigan after surrendering two runs in eight hits in five innings.
  • Former UK outfielder Collin Cowgill was 3-5 with a double and RBI for AA Mobile.
  • Former UK first baseman/outfielder Lance Ray was 2-3 with his third home run of the season, three RBI and two runs scored for low A Beloit.
  • Former UofL infielder Chris Dominguez sent low A Augusta to victory with a walkoff home run in the bottom of the 15th inning.
  • Former NKU outfielder Jake Shaffer was 2-3 with his seventh home run of the season, one RBI and two runs scored for high A High Desert.
  • One game after snapping his 14-game hitting streak, former Morehead St. shortstop and 2010 White Sox draftee Drew Lee was 3-3 with a walk, double, RBI and run scored for rookie-level Bristol.

Bowling Green Hot Rods 2010 Opening Day Roster

Minor League Baseball

The Bowling Green Hot Rods have released their 2010 Opening Day roster for its first season in the Midwest League. The Hot Rods will feature four players, right-handed pitchers Shane Dyer, Jairo De ┬áLa Rosa and Deivis Mavares and infielder Robi Estrada, who spent part of 2009 with the team. Five 2010 Hot Rods were ranked by Baseball America on the Tampa Bay Rays’ top 30 prospects list, and I’ve included those rankings next to the players’ name below.


  • RHP Alexander Colome (BA #7) — NDFA (2007)
  • RHP Jairo De La Rosa — NFDA (2002)
  • RHP Shane Dyer — 6th Round (2008)
  • LHP Kyle Lobstein (BA #11) — 2nd Round (2008)
  • RHP Deivis Mavares — NDFA (2007)
  • RHP Jason McEachern (BA #25) — 13th round (2008)
  • RHP Wilking Rodriguez (BA #17) –NDFA (2007)
  • RHP Scott Shuman — 19th Round (2009)
  • LHP Matthew Stabelfeld — 41st Round (2009)
  • LHP Jake Sullivan — 22nd Round (2009)
  • RHP Kirby Yates —


  • Mayobanex Acosta — R/R — NDFA (2006)
  • Tomas Francisco — R/R — NDFA (2006)
  • Mark Thomas — R/R — 22nd Round (2006)


  • SS — Tyler Bortnick — R/R — 16th round (2009)
  • 3B — Julio Cedeno — R/R — NDFA (2006)
  • 2B — Robi Estrada — S/R — 19th round (2006)
  • SS — Diogenes Luis — S/R — NDFA (2006)
  • 1B — Eli Sonoqui — L/L — 9th round (2006)
  • 2B — Kyle Spraker — R/R — 34th round (2009)
  • 1B — Ryan Wiegand — L/R — 25th round (2009)


  • CF — Dustin Bell — L/R — 5th Round (2007)
  • LF — Ty Morrison (BA #14) — L/R — 4th Round (2008)
  • CF — Christopher Murrill — L/L — 35th Round (2009)
  • RF — Brett Nommensen — L/L — 8th Round (2009)