Murray State alum named Chicago Cubs pitching coach; Sellers signs minor-league deal with Marlins

College Baseball, Major League Baseball, Minor League Baseball

BluGrass Baseball is back from a weekend hiatus with a rundown of the latest stories from around Kentucky baseball:

  • Former Murray State Univeristy pitcher Mark Riggins was named the MLB pitching coach of the Chicago Cubs.
  • Matt Eddy of Baseball America reports former EKU infielder Neil Sellers has signed a minor-league contract with the Florida Marlins. Sellers had spent the last three seasons in the Phillies’ organization.
  • Mike Fields of the Lexington Herald-Leader reports Bryan Station High School junior first baseman/pitcher Michael Bollmer has committed to play baseball at the University of Louisville.
  • Brent Ingram of the University of Kentucky media relations department has published a breakdown of UK’s Southeastern Conference opponents.

Ky. high school underclassmen named to All-American list

High School Baseball

Perfect Game USA has released its preseason high school underclassmen All-American lists, and several Kentucky preps were included in the honorable mention category. I’ve listed those below with graduation year, but you can see the full team here. (Hat tip to Adam Revelette of

High-Honorable Mention:

Mark Biggs — Warren East (2011)
Zach Clooney — St. Xavier (2011)
Chandler Shepherd — Lawrence County (2011)
Matt Spalding — St. Xavier (2011)

Honorable Mention:

Chase Armstrong- Lexington Catholic (2012)
Zach Arnold- Franklin County (2012)
Michael Bollmer- Bryan Station (2012)
Beau Bouthilette- Elizabethtown (2011)
Clay Cinnamon- Mercer County (2011)
Jeremy Cline- Warren Central (2011)
Spencer Drake- Eastern (2012)
Ryan Fucci- Tates Creek (2012)
Kevin Herren- Lafayette (2012)
Matt Honchel- Harrodsburg (2011)
Will Hurt- Lexington Catholic (2012)
Tyler Jackson- Lexington Catholic (2012)
Jackson Laumann- Boone County (2011)
Matt McGowan- University Heights (2011)
Logan McQuerry- George Rogers Clark (2012)
Dalton Mellott- Ohio County (2011)
Cody Moore- Lawrence County (2011)
Logan Shaftner- Lafayette (2011)
Blake Smith- Lafayette (2011)
Andrew Willinger- St. Xavier (2012)